Speaking of my job, I tend bar at a "neighborhood" style pub. Therefore I know almost everyone who comes in. And every night I get to hear stupid shit people love to say to me. Like the server who critiqued my mad mimosa skills by sneering "Are we making our mimosas weaker now?" First off, let me clarify: the mimosas in question were of the "bottomless" persuasion, the partners had been trying desperately to reign in our bar costs and it's champagne, get over it. Or the regular who screamed at me, "Be all you can be and learn how to fucking play Liar's Poker." We're not in the damn army, so give me some money and shut your mouth like a good little boy.
I honestly would rather have a moderate tipper who is well-behaved and decently nice than a loud foul-mouthed customer who tips 100% of the bill. I know, it's not in the capitalistic tradition, but I guess I have an unnatural aversion to ulcers.
Some of the regulars are really nice, decent tippers and fairly low-maintenance. Then there's the woman who comes in and screeches like a banshee after three cocktails. Now I forget, why is she single? Some of the people actually make the job worth it. These are the people that you actually don't mind telling the truth to and occasionally buying the odd beer for. These people seem to be on an endangered customers list though. If I had to guess, I would think that society has been taking cues on how to act in public at a restaurant or bar from reality t.v. Where else would they learn that swearing at employees, leaving shitty tips, and causing general mayhem is acceptable? I blame Bret Michaels. If it wasn't for his parade of strippers and common street trash, we would be a better behaved society. Now if only I could stop watching the train wreck that has become his life.

No comments:
Post a Comment